NICEVILLE — The 47th Annual Explosive Ordnance Disposal Memorial ceremony will include the addition of six names to the memorial wall.
The ceremony is 9 a.m. May 7 at the EOD Memorial, Range Road, Niceville, across from Naval School Explosive Ordnance Disposal.
The men and women whose names appear on the wall represent the 314 fallen EOD warriors, who have died while in the line of duty since 1942.
The names of six EOD technicians will be added to the memorial honoring those who have made the ultimate sacrifice for our nation.
Those personnel are:
●Army 1st Lt. Mack T. Jarret, killed in action Nov. 22, 1943 while serving in World War II.
●Army Tech. Sgt. Louis Brovetto, killed in action July 30, 1944 while serving in World War II.
●Army Pvt. Clinton E. Mullenix, who died May 15, 1943, during a training exercise while serving in World War II.
●Marine Staff Sgt. David B. Lyons, who died July 29, 2014 of wounds received in action while deployed in 2010 to Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom.
●Navy Lt. J.G. Gardner T. Hutchins, killed in action May 11, 1945 while serving in World War II.
●Navy Chief Aviation Ordnanceman William C. Meadville, killed in action Oct. 1, 1944, while serving in World War II.
The original memorial's dedication was June 12, 1970.
After Naval School Explosive Ordnance Disposal was consolidated at Eglin Air Force Base, the original memorial was disassembled and redesigned.
The structure consists of four white cenotaphs, one for each branch of service; Army, Marine Corps, Navy and Air Force. A bronze tablet with the names of the fallen is attached to each centograph. A brick from one of the original cenotaphs was incorporated into the current memorial by entombing it within the concrete wall.