EDITOR'S DESK: In praise of scouting

Published: Wednesday, October 17, 2012 at 12:21 PM.


Earning the Eagle Scout honor isn’t easy.

Achieving the Boy Scouts of America ranking requires a scout to:

•Pass through several phases including Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star and Life

•Earn 21 merit badges including First Aid, Citizenship in the Community, Environmental Science, Personal Fitness, Family Life and Emergency Preparedness

•Lead the troop for six months

•Participate in a Scoutmaster conference

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves