New Crestview city council to be sworn in and seated April 1

Published: Wednesday, March 27, 2013 at 07:35 PM.

CRESTVIEW — On April 1, three new city council members — Joe Blocker, Shannon Hayes and Mickey Rytman — will be sworn in and the city's new council will be seated. The three join Tom Gordon and Robyn Helt, who remain on the dais.

The city's departing council members took the opportunity at the end of Monday's council meeting to reflect on their years of service and say goodbye to their colleagues.

Charles Baugh Jr. and Council President Benjamin Iannucci III were defeated in recent elections. Tim Grandberry is retiring after serving one term.

Serving the city isn’t always easy, city leaders said.

"I have served two tours in Afghanistan, and three tours in Iraq, but man, I feel like I've been shot at more up here," Baugh said.

"And it was not friendly fire," Helt said, to laughter.

"They say you're sworn in one day and you're sworn at for four years," Grandberry said.

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves