Commissioners drop discussion of chief's removal until further notice

Published: Monday, December 24, 2012 at 11:12 AM.

Holloway said he had only recently sent a memorandum stating the situation and said the office was looking into the matter.  

Holloway said he should receive a response within the next 30 days.

 Agenda items involving the disciplinary policy and the chief's removal were then motioned by Commissioner Craig Shaw and unanimously passed by the board.

With new commissioners McGirr and Rollin Rathbun, the board started the meeting by voting in new positions. McGirr, who defeated Franklin Sauls in the September election, was voted in as treasurer. Craig Shaw, the previous treasurer, was voted in as chair. Willie Terrell was voted in vice chair and Dan Bowers Jr. was voted in as secretary.

At the end of the meeting, Bowers made a motion to help the district save money.

"I make a motion for the board members to be treated as non-employees in regards to their stipend," Bowers said. 

All the commissioners agreed, passing the motion unanimously.

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves