Nominations wanted for Women's Wall of Honor

okaloosa commission nwfdn
FILE PHOTO | Northwest Florida Daily News
Published: Tuesday, March 26, 2013 at 05:53 PM.

The Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women, or OCCSW, seeks nominations through April 15 for the 2013 Women's Wall of Honor.

"We encourage friends, family members, coworkers and employers to nominate the special women in our county who enrich their lives," Shirley Pigott, OCCSW chair, said. "Women in our community have made tremendous contributions to our county's growth, health, education, welfare and culture. Each year we want to continually recognize these women in a permanent way."

The OCCSW annually presents a ceremony to honor Okaloosa women who have contributed to residents’ well-being. This year's ceremony is 10 a.m. May 7 in the University of West Florida Emerald Coast auditorium on the Fort Walton Beach campus.

Honorees’ names appear on a plaque in the campus library, with a nearby book containing a biographical page for each woman.

 Women honored in 2012 include Carolyn Chesser, Trecia Chedister, Fritz Creswell, Sandy Duh, Gloria K. Frazier, Lill Jennings, Hulda Mahlum, Gail Lynn Meyer, Katie Matthews White Moody, Tina Nelson, Patricia Payne, Helen Hunt Rigdon, Kathleen Patricia Fleming "Taty" Saunders, Katie Sharon, Edna Spivey Sherrow and Stacy Travis.

Want to nominate someone?

Write 100 words or less about the woman you wish to honor, include her photo and send a $100 donation to the Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women, Post Office Box 681, Niceville, Florida 32588.

1 2

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves