NICEVILLE — On Aug. 22, 173 guests watched the Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women induct six women into the Okaloosa Women’s Hall of Fame.

Their lives and works have had a positive impact on the direction and success of community projects, programs or individuals. They are Dr. Naomi G. Barnes of Crestview (Pioneer Award); Dr. Karyn M. Combs (Education Award); Evie Fox (Community Service Award); Tammy McDaniel (Contemporary Award); Brenda Shoffner (Mattie Kelly Cultural Arts Award); and Nancy Weidenhamer (Posthumous Award).

"These inspiring women are all assets to our community. Each of these role models has made tremendous contributions to improve the lives of citizens, particularly women and children, living in our county and should be recognized for the impact they have had on our community," Mary Florence, OCCSW chair, said.

One hundred and four women have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since it was created in 1995. The hall was created to honor women of Okaloosa County — past and present — whose contributions to the arts, athletics, business, education, government, the humanities, philanthropy and science have been of great value to the community’s development.

Induction into the Hall of Fame is the commission’s oldest and most prestigious award. The OCCSW sponsors the hall and the annual induction ceremony is held in conjunction with Women’s Equality Day.

Inductees are honored in permanent displays at the Okaloosa County Commission offices, the Niceville City Council Chambers and the Crestview Courthouse.

Visit for more information on past winners and the commission.