SHALIMAR — All individuals who apply for or renew a Florida concealed weapon license now save $5. Commissioner of Agriculture Adam H. Putnam worked with the Florida Legislature to bring the application fee down. The discount started July 1.
“Our offices work hand-in-hand with the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to ensure this constitutional right is available and affordable for all residents," Okaloosa County Tax Collector Ben Anderson said.
A background check which includes fingerprinting is needed for all first-time applicants.
Most initial licenses typically cost $119, while renewals cost $57. Both prices include a fingerprint processing and convenience fee.
The Okaloosa County Tax Collector’s Office is authorized to take fingerprints, photographs, and accept applications on behalf of the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Same-day renewals are also available for eligible Florida residents.
License applications are processed at the Niceville and Crestview branches of the Okaloosa County Tax Collector’s Office. Residents must make an appointment for this transaction.
Go to www.OkaloosaTax.com or call 651-7300 for more application information or to make an appointment.