NICEVILLE — Northwest Florida State College held its annual Student Awards and Honors ceremony April 13 in Niceville.

During the ceremony, NWF President Dr. Devin Stephenson gave the keynote address to students and families on the importance of pursuing excellence in all things.

North Okaloosa students recognized for student achievement for the 2016-2017 academic year include the following:

2016-2017 All-Florida Academic Team: Emily Summers of Baker, and Cameron Wakeland of Crestview.

2017 Student Organization of the Year: Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Excellence in Early Childhood Education (AS): Epidtha Gibson of Crestview.

Outstanding Student in Theater: John McCullough of Crestview.

Outstanding Student in Humanities: D.J. Scott of Crestview.

Perseverance Award in A.A. Pre-Architecture: Samantha Marte of Crestview.

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 – Dental Assisting: Second place, Iryna Slyusar of Baker.

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 – Early Childhood Education: First place: Epidtha Gibson.

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 – Education and Training Services: First place, Heather Bryson of Holt, Stefanie Fontaine of Fort Walton Beach and Susan Sirois of Crestview; Second place, Tawanda Brown of Crestview, Epidtha Gibson and Mary Swisher of Fort Walton Beach.

SkillsUSA: First at state and fourth at nationals in Drafting, Design and Technology, Mechanical Design/CAD Specialization, Thomas Myers of Crestview.

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges: Baker resident Emily Summers; Crestview residents Tawanda Brown,  Epidtha Gibson, Brittany Mendoza, Shae Mitchell, Susan Sirois, Cameron Wakeland and Vanessa Young; and Holt resident Heather Bryson.