North Okaloosa volunteers among ushers recognized for service

ushers NWFSC northwest florida state college

Northwest Florida State College recently celebrated its volunteer ushers for the services they provide during the school's events.

Special to the News Bulletin
Published: Monday, July 1, 2013 at 01:24 PM.

NICEVILLE — More than 90 individuals were recently recognized for their more than 7,000 hours of combined volunteer service this past year with the usher corps at Northwest Florida State College’s Mattie Kelly Fine and Performing Arts Center.

Volunteer ushers assist with all public events at the arts complex, from symphony concerts to student productions, and work at other college events such as commencement and the annual dinner. They also raise funds for student scholarships and other arts endeavors and have donated more than $10,000 in recent years to the NWFSC Foundation, mostly from concession sales proceeds.

Mattie Kelly Arts Center ushers who assisted at the college’s recent 50th Anniversary Kick-Off Assembly in the athletics arena included Delores Merrill, Niceville; C.V. Miller and Sandy Miller, Niceville; Marsha Hooten, Florala, Ala.; Dodie Glowa, Fort Walton; RoseLyn Stone, Niceville; Betty Doyle, Fort Walton Beach; Jean Smith, Valparaiso; and Gloria DeBerry, Fort Walton Beach. From left, back row, are Jim Washington, Destin; John Hooten, Florala; Nancy Litten, Shalimar; Lee Fryer, Ron Altman, Roxanne Ruckdeschel and Chuck Hightower, all of Niceville; Una Heavener, Fort Walton Beach; Dave Kaplan, Ellie Hightower and Sharon Johnson, Niceville; and Dave Hyre, Destin.

Other Mattie Kelly Arts Center ushers recognized for their service include Margaret Larson and Tonya Nascimento, Crestview; Anna and Wayne Leone, and Steve Strauss, Destin; and Heather Perez, Freeport.

Also: Inge Ackerman, Darlene Anderson, Audrey Bailey, Diana Barr, Mindy Barrett, Phil Block, Michele Boles, Joan Bowman, Jane Broestler, Yolanda Byrd, Brenda Crabbe, Joy Crimmins, Jan and Kurt Eichorst, Katie Furby, Marjorie Gray, Dee Gulbranson, Susie Hagwood,  Audrey and Bob Hains, Laurie Hardy, Be Hinely, Pat Honstetter, Kathie Justice, Carol Lumsden,  Gilbert March, Sue and Lee Marion, Pat McDaniel, Cheryl McDermott, Dave Miller, Lynette  and David Pearce,  Melissa Pearce, Ali Pfeffer, Marsha Plinske, Vicki Richburg, Angela Smith, Paul Summitt, Ann Surmiak, Caroleen Swanson, Barbara and Bill Thaler, Judy Van Rees, Valerie Valade, Gary Wendel, Cathy White and Nancy Whitehouse, Niceville; Pam and Leroy Donald, Fred Doyle, Nancy and Charley Dyess, Dan Glowa, Sue Jones, Astrid and Phil Krajeck, Mary-Anne Lovato, and Judith Mastromonico, Niceville; Lolly and Steve Korn, and Sheila Stetzler and Pat and Jim Wood, Shalimar; and Pat D’Aquila, Valparaiso.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves

Tonight in Prime Time