Distinguished Young Women scholarship program to feature 2 Crestview students

Crestview High School seniors Elizabeth Anne Hinson and Savannah Denyse Barefield

Crestview High School seniors Elizabeth Anne Hinson and Savannah Denyse Barefield will compete in Okaloosa County’s Distinguished Young Woman 2015 program. The event begins at 7 p.m. July 19 in the Fort Walton Beach City Auditorium.

Special to the News Bulletin
Published: Saturday, July 19, 2014 at 05:27 PM.

CRESTVIEW — Distinguished Young Women of Okaloosa County’s third annual scholarship program is at 7 p.m. today in the Fort Walton Beach City Auditorium, 107 SW Miracle Strip Parkway. Admission costs $7 per person.

Competing for the 2015 title are:

Crestview High School students Elizabeth Anne Hinson and Savannah Denyse Barefield; Collegiate High School students Sasha Nicole Larson and Destiny Jean Keller; Niceville High School students Jessica Rene Warsheski, Erin Murphey, Taylor Angeli Marie Maderazo and Jessica Virginia Gwendolyn Gunn; Choctawhatchee High School students Lydia Rose Clark, Rachel Lauren Hidalgo, Elizabeth “Ellie” Ann Boykin, Shannon Maureen Claflin, Christie Lynne Schenck, Jacklyn Leigh Henley and Sabrina Musteric; and Fort Walton Beach High School students Jacqueline Orcutt and Alyssa Monae Miles.

Distinguished Young Women, formerly America’s Junior Miss, is a non-profit, volunteer-led organization that awards scholarships to young women in their senior year of high school who excel in the evaluation categories of scholastics, interview, talent, fitness and self-expression.

Many local businesses — including primary sponsors CCB Community Bank in Niceville, with President Alan Wood; and Systems of Sound, with owner Robert Levison — support Okaloosa County’s 2015 DYW program.

Destin’s Natalie Lawson was the Distinguished Young Woman 2014 for Okaloosa County. In January she competed in Winter Garden, Fla., and won the title Distinguished Young Woman of Florida. She competed at the national competition in June and finished in the Top Ten for the Distinguished Young Women of America 2014.

Saturday evening’s competition will culminate in Lawson awarding the 2015 Distinguished Young Woman of Okaloosa County with the DYW medallion.

1 2

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves

Tonight in Prime Time